Turkey

The Global Archives Turkey Project began its pilot phase in the summer of 2015. Sponsored by the Baden-Württemberg Ministry for Arts and Sciences, the Global Archives Istanbul scholarships were first advertised in October 2015 in order to give young scholars the opportunity of conducting research for their projects in Turkish archives.

The project results not only from a revival of academic interest into the works of Erich Auerbach and Leo Spitzer in both the American and the German context. It also reflects an increased interest in the influence of German-speaking academic emigrants among Turkish scholars in recent years. Links between archive documents held in Istanbul and in the German Literature Archive in Marbach, which holds the unpublished works of Erich Auerbach, can help reconstruct the emigrants’ experiences of travel and exile, as well as chapters of intellectual history. These sources are of great interest to German-Turkish relations, to the public, and to the subjects concerned. They allow new insights into the continuing international influence of German-speaking scholars.

The role of German-speaking academics and scholars in the modernization of the Turkish higher education system is both historically and politically complex: not only emigrants became influential in Turkish universities, particularly in Istanbul and later in Ankara. Scholars in Germany who supported the National Socialist ideology also tried to influence the transformation of the Turkish higher education landscape.

Scholars of interest to this project include Erich Auerbach (1892-1957), Leo Spitzer (1887-1960), Ernst von Aster (1880-1948), Walther Kranz (1884-1960), Liselotte Dieckmann (1902-1994), Herbert Dieckmann (1906-1986), Hans Marchand (1907-1978), as well as Joachim Ritter (1903-1974), who taught at the University of Istanbul from 1953-1955, and the NS-Germanist Gerhard Fricke, whose links to the former Nazi regime led him to move to Istanbul in 1950.

Türkei

Im Sommer 2015 startete das Projekt Global Archives Türkei mit einer Pilotphase. Gefördert vom Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst, Baden-Württemberg, wurden im Oktober 2015 erstmals Global-Archives-Istanbul-Stipendien ausgeschrieben, die Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftlern die Möglichkeit geben, für ihre Projekte in türkischen Archiven zu recherchieren.

Wissenschaftlich schließt das Projekt nicht nur an eine Neubelebung der Auseinandersetzung mit den Arbeiten Erich Auerbachs und Leo Spitzers in den philologischen Disziplinen im US-amerikanischen und deutschsprachigen Raum an, sondern auch an ein in den vergangenen Jahren gestiegenes Interesse der türkischen Geisteswissenschaften an den Einflüssen deutschsprachiger akademischer Emigranten. Anhand verknüpfter Bestände in Istanbul und im Deutschen Literaturarchiv Marbach, das den Nachlass Erich Auerbachs verwahrt, lassen sich transit-, exil- und wissenschaftsgeschichtliche Kapitel rekonstruieren, die für die türkisch-deutschen Beziehungen, für die Öffentlichkeit wie für die beteiligten Fächer von großem Interesse sind. Aus den Quellen lassen sich neue Einsichten in das Wirken und Nachwirken der deutschsprachigen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler gewinnen.

Die Rolle deutschsprachiger Wissenschaftler und Gelehrter innerhalb der Modernisierung des türkischen Hochschulsystems ist historisch wie politisch komplex: Universitär wirkten - vor allem in Istanbul und später auch in Ankara - nicht nur Emigrantinnen und Emigranten. Auch nationalsozialistisch gesinnte Wissenschaftler versuchten, an der Transformation der türkischen Hochschullandschaft mitzuwirken.

Für das Projekt von Interesse sind neben Erich Auerbach (1892-1957) und Leo Spitzer (1887-1960), auch Ernst von Aster (1880-1948), Walther Kranz (1884-1960), Liselotte Dieckmann (1902-1994), Herbert Dieckmann (1906-1986), Hans Marchand (1907-1978), ebenso Joachim Ritter (1903-1974), der von 1953-55 an der Universität Istanbul lehrte oder der NS-Germanist Gerhard Fricke (1901-1980), der 1950 aufgrund seiner persönlichen Belastung nach Istanbul ging.