In 2012, the German Literature Archive in Marbach and the Franz Rosenzweig Minerva Research Center of the Hebrew University opened a new Coordination Center for the Research of German-Jewish Estates in Israel. Sponsored by the Federal Foreign Office, it ensures that historical archive documents in Israel are conserved, made accessible, and used for scientific research.

The German Literature Archive supports young scholars in researching and making available document collections held by the Central Zionist Archives, the Leo Baeck Institute in Jerusalem, and the National Library of Israel (NLI). At present, their activities include the indexing of archival documents and items regarding German-Israeli scholarly history, which have received little to no attention until today. These holdings give new insight into the extent of the influence German scholarly traditions have had (and continue to have) on research and teaching in Israel, as well as the significant social role played by exiled German-Jewish scholars in former Mandatory Palestine and later in Israel.

Since 2016, this existing co-operation has been broadened through the launch of a project geared towards the Research and Exploration of the Historical Archive of the Hebrew University 1918-1948, which is supported by the Gerda Henkel Foundation. The results will be presented at the 2018 centennial celebrations of the Hebrew University.

The projects were initiated by Yfaat Weiss (Rosenzweig Minerva Research Center), Marcel Lepper (German Literature Archive Marbach), and Jürgen Fohrmann (University of Bonn).

Israel

2012 haben das Deutsche Literaturarchiv Marbach und das Franz Rosenzweig Minerva Research Center der Hebrew University eine vom Auswärtigen Amt geförderte Koordinierungsstelle zur Erforschung deutsch-jüdischer Nachlässe in Jerusalem eingerichtet, um die Konservierung, Zugänglichkeit und wissenschaftliche Nutzung signifikanter historischer Bestände in Israel zu gewährleisten.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Sammelstätten wie den Central Zionist Archives, dem Leo Baeck Institut Jerusalem und der National Library of Israel (NLI) werden forschungsbezogene Erschließungsprojekte mit Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftlern realisiert. Derzeit werden mit der NLI insbesondere unerforschte Archivbestände zur deutsch-israelischen Wissenschaftsgeschichte katalogisiert. In diesen Beständen zeichnen sich der Einfluss der deutschen Wissenschaftstradition auf Forschung und Lehre in Israel sowie die gesellschaftliche Rolle der emigrierten deutsch-jüdischen Gelehrten im jüdisch-arabischen Umfeld des Mandatsgebiets Palästina und später in Israel deutlich ab.

2016 wurde die Zusammenarbeit durch ein Projekt zur Erforschung und Erschließung der historischen Archive der Hebrew University 1918-1948 erweitert, das von der Gerda Henkel Stiftung gefördert wird. Die Ergebnisse werden 2018 im Rahmen des Universitätsjubiläums vorgestellt.

Die Projekte wurden initiiert von Yfaat Weiss (Rosenzweig Minerva Forschungszentrum), Marcel Lepper (Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach) und Jürgen Fohrmann (Universität Bonn).