Great Britain

In co-operation with the University of Cambridge, the Global Archives Initiative has examined the idea of Great Britain as an exile country since 2016. While few people found refuge in Great Britain during the first years of the National Socialist rule, tens of thousands, including numerous writers, artists, and scientists from Germany, Austria, and Czechoslovakia, found safety there after 1938.

Some of the most prominent writers who sought refuge either temporarily or for an extended period in Great Britain include Stefan Zweig, Elias Canetti, Felix Braun, Wolfgang Hildesheimer, Alfred Kerr, and Oskar Kokoschka. Philosophers and social scientists like Karl Mannheim, Norbert Elias, Ludwig Wittgenstein, and Ernst Gombrich also emigrated to Great Britain. Those in British exile developed an extremely active cultural sphere. Their literary and scientific works were accepted and published by exile organizations as well as by British newspapers and periodicals. Their support, in turn, contributed to the emigrants’ continued artistic and academic activity.

British institutes and organizations such as the Wiener Library, the Warburg Institute, the British Library, the Leo Baeck Institute in London, as well as many universities, hold numerous documents, collections, and unpublished works of exiled artists and scientists in their archives, thus protecting the traces and memories of their fate. Notable holdings include those regarding Victor Leopold Ehrenberg (University of London), Felix Langer (Wiener Library), Rudolf Olden (University College London), Kurt Schwitters (University of the Arts London), Walter Solmitz, Robert Eisler, Ernst Gombrich, Otto Kurz, Fritz Saxl and Gertrude Bing (Warburg Institute), Herbert Thoma (University of London), and Ernest André Gellner (British Library of Political and Economic Science). These unique documents help protect the memory of exiled scholars’ and artists’ life and work. They reveal important information regarding the conditions under which these people lived and worked and how these conditions affected their work.

A selected bibliography regarding emigration to Great Britain can be found here.

Großbritannien

In Zusammenarbeit mit der University of Cambridge widmet sich die Initiative Global Archives seit 2016 dem Exilland Großbritannien. Während in den ersten Jahren der nationalsozialistischen Herrschaft nur wenige Personen in Großbritannien Zuflucht fanden, konnten sich nach 1938 Zehntausende Menschen vor allem aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Tschechoslowakei nach Großbritannien retten. Auch zahlreiche Schriftsteller, Künstler und Wissenschaftler gingen ins britische Exil.

Zu den bekanntesten Schriftstellern, die in Großbritannien zeitweilig oder auf Dauer Zuflucht suchten, gehörten Stefan Zweig, Elias Canetti, Felix Braun, Wolfgang Hildesheimer, Alfred Kerr und Oskar Kokoschka. Philosophen und Sozialwissenschaftler wie Karl Mannheim, Norbert Elias, Ludwig Wittgenstein oder Ernst Gombrich emigrierten nach Großbritannien. Das britische Exil entwickelte sich zu einem äußerst aktiven Zentrum, in dem britische Verlage und auch Exilorganisationen sich den literarischen und wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten der exilierten Personen annahmen, Zeitungen und Zeitschriften veröffentlichten und somit zum Fortbestand der künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeiten der Emigranten beitrugen.

Britische Institute und Organisationen – wie die Wiener Library, das Warburg Institute, die British Library und das Leo Baeck Institute London, sowie viele Universitäten – bewahren heute in ihren Archiven die Spuren und die Erinnerung an das Schicksal der exilierten Künstler und Wissenschaftler in Form von zahlreichen Dokumenten, Sammlungen und Nachlässen. Erwähnenswert sind dabei die Bestände zu Victor Leopold Ehrenberg (University of London), Felix Langer (Wiener Library), Rudolf Olden (University College London), Kurt Schwitters (University of the Arts London), Walter Solmitz, Robert Eisler, Ernst Gombrich, Otto Kurz, Fritz Saxl und Gertrud Bing (Warburg Institute), Herbert Thoma (University of London), Ernest André Gellner (British Library of Political and Economic Science). Diese einzigartigen Dokumente tragen dazu bei, die Erinnerung an das Leben und Werk exilierter Wissenschaftler und Künstler zu bewahren und bieten wichtige Informationen über die Lebens- und Produktionsbedingungen, unter denen diese arbeiteten und die ihr Werk maßgeblich beeinflussten.

Eine Auswahlbibliographie zur Emigration nach Großbritannien findet sich hier.